Press Release / Youth And Education

On Tanauan Little League for Bagging the 2018 Senior Softball League World Series Championship


Senator Joel Villanueva, vice chair of the Senate Committee on Sports, on Wednesday commended the Tanauan Little League for being crowned as the 2018 Senior Softball World Series champions.
In Senate Resolution No. 842, Villanueva congratulated the Tanauan Little League who hails from Batangas for defeating Texas District 9 Little League with a 7-0 win held at Bruce Layton Field in Lower Sussex, Delaware on August 6.
"Let me say that Tanauan Little League’s achievement is really significant because it’s the very first title bagged by the country after 44 years of joining the league. It is also the first-ever championship of any team in the tournament from the Asia-Pacific region," Villanueva said during his sponsorship speech.
"Isang pambihirang pagkakataon kung saan masasabi nating mga Pinoy: muling na namang naibalik ang mapa ng Pilipinas sa mundo! Sa kabila ng ilang araw nang pag-ulan na nagdulot ng matinding pagbaha, ganitong pagkakataon ang nagbibigay sa atin ng tibay at lakas bilang isang bansa," the senator added.
The star player, Royevel Palma, gave a sterling performance after striking out 15 times and allowing only 2 hits in all of the 7 innings she manned for the Tanauan Little League.
“The victory of the Tanauan Little League adds to a myriad source of Filipino pride. We look up to these young ones who comprise our national team for they perfectly represent the Filipino might and competitiveness in the field of sports. Saludo po kami sa inyo!” the senator concluded.